Kde neon

· Parzzix

Yesterday, I came to the conclusion that I have to dual-boot my laptop. I need Windows for work and I thought I will just suffer through with it and get by using WSL for stuff. But the thought of the spying and everything else that comes with Windows wouldn't escape me. So...

I went back to dual-boot. I started with OpenSUSE Tumbleweed, figuring rolling release was the way to go. I used Gnome as my default desktop and went on my merry way. Of course, I then realized Gnome isn't all it's cracked up to be. I need extensions for things like my system tray, and they only work part of the time. So I thought, why not give KDE a go. I realized I like KDE much more, even if I do like the look of GTK apps a bit more than QT, but I can deal with that. My next issue is the plethora of apps installed when I switched to KDE/Plasma and the things left from Gnome. It caused too much trouble trying to get rid of what I didn't want with Yast.

So then I decided I would give KDE-Neon a go. I used it a couple of years ago and remembered its bareness. Almost no programs are installed with it by default. I get the beauty of a rolling Plasma Desktop with the stability of a LTS base. Why not? I went ahead and did the deed.

Thus far, I am very happy with things. I've only added a handful of apps to the system, tweaked things to the Dracula theme (which is also easier with Plasma) and synced up my files. All is well and I'm happy. I think I can keep myself from hoping at least a little while on this setup. I can't think of a reason to jump ship at all.